Utterly Confused

I have no idea who I am voting for this year. In the past I have known who I wanted to win the presidency early in the primaries (Hillary Clinton in 08, Bush in 04). I guess that it is different this year because I actually get a vote. I have a voice this year, and I don’t know what to do with it yet.

The Obamas make a beautiful first family and Barack Obama makes the most vibrant Head of State since J.F.K, but that does nothing for the economy. On the other hand, Obama worked hard to make college more affordable and he finally put an end to “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.” There are some flaws with Obama Care and there are a lot of benefits (free birth control ladies!), that makes me want to go door to door and help his campaign, but that isn’t enough for my vote. The unemployment rate has been over 8% for 42 continuous months, and if we recall, Obama promised that it would not be over 8% if he was elected president. Oh and one little thing…GAS PRICES, are still rising. Sure they fall for a bit, but then they shoot right back up like someones weight after a crash diet.

Then there is Romney, a phenomenal business man and a wonderful governor and someone who is only slightly smarter than Bush was. (Romneyisms anyone?) He used to be my ideal candidate and someone who I believe would be the ideal candidate for America. He had the business savvy to help the economy and he was liberal enough to respect the rights of gays and women. Now I hear that Romney wants to repeal Roe v. Wade so that states can put their own pro-life legislation in place. Sure he still isn’t quite Tod Akin, but he is getting there. As a modern individual I don’t think that I could vote for someone who has had this much of a lapse in judgement. In my opinion, it is un-American and inhumane to take away human freedoms based upon someone’s gender or sexual orientation.

The question is, do I give him my vote hoping that once in the White House he will go back to the Mitt Romney that ran against Ted Kennedy? Or, do I put a little more faith in Obama with the economy and hope that with four more years, that unemployment rates and gas prices finally drop? Since we can not vote for a co-presidency between the two, I am going to have to make up my mind, and fast. I feel like I am in the same predicament that many Americans are in at the moment. There is a huge group of people who are undecided, and that are being paid little attention. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but isn’t the entire point of a campaign to capture the vote of undecided voters? I don’t think that Republicans try to attract super Republicans while the Democrats do the same with their party. Maybe after watching Biden and Ryan debate, I will know what to do.

Photo Credit: blog.compete.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

