51 Stars for the Flag?

Among all of the re-election cries of both joy and concern, the media overlooked one very important vote. Puerto Rico’s vote on the referendum for statehood. Since 1898 Puerto Rico has been part of the Commonwealth of the United States. This allows for a small delegation in congress without voting privileges.

The relationship between Puerto Rico and the United States has sparked debate nationally and even globally. The issue revolves around whether Puerto Rico should remain a U.S. territory, become a U.S. state, or break off and form an independent nation.

On Tuesday their ballot contained two questions regarding the current “territory” status of Puerto Rico. The first question asked if they favor the current status of Puerto Rico. Fifty-four percent of voters responded no, signifying their discontent. The second question gave voters three choices statehood, independence, or “sovereign free association,” which would give the 4 million island residents more independence. Only 1.3 million voters chose to answer this final question. Of those, sixty-one percent chose statehood. Although this is a majority response, 500,000 voters chose to leave this question blank. With such a great number of voters refusing to make the choice, did statehood really win? Congress will have to react to the election results themselves, but for the first time a 51stseems like a great possibility.

Image by Rick Wyatt, 1998.

Tagged , ,

41 thoughts on “51 Stars for the Flag?

  1. redhead says:

    I like the helpful information you supply on your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again right here regularly. I’m moderately sure I’ll learn many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. It is the best time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if I may I desire to counsel you few fascinating things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles relating to this article. I want to read even more issues about it!

  3. Woah this weblog is fantastic i really like studying your articles. Keep up the great work! You recognize, lots of individuals are hunting round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  4. I simply want to tell you that I am very new to blogs and absolutely savored you’re web page. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with good stories. Thank you for sharing your web site.

  5. Denis Moisan says:

    I simply want to say I am just very new to blogs and certainly savored you’re website. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really have terrific well written articles. Thank you for sharing with us your blog site.

  6. Aside from that, what are your points of view here?

  7. My friend wasn’t wrong of endorsing you as his favourite blog poster

  8. I adore your bravery for posting things like this, it takes courage you know

  9. Asa Wariner says:

    You may not see it but you changed lives with just your posts

  10. Abbie Nin says:

    This is very fascinating, You’re a very professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and sit up for in quest of extra of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  11. I just dropped by to read your latest post, and of course you did well

  12. Warrock says:

    I’m honored to obtain a call from a friend as he identified the essential guidelines shared on your website. Browsing your weblog post is really a real superb experience. A lot of thanks for taking into consideration readers at all like me, and I wish you the very best of achievements as being a skilled domain.

  13. Cool post . Thank you for, commenting on my blog page mate. I will email you some time! I did not know that!

  14. In this great scheme of things you secure a B+ for hard work. Exactly where you actually confused everybody ended up being in your details. As it is said, details make or break the argument.. And it could not be more true at this point. Having said that, let me reveal to you exactly what did work. The text can be really engaging which is probably the reason why I am making an effort to opine. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, even though I can certainly see the jumps in logic you make, I am not really certain of how you appear to unite your ideas which inturn make the conclusion. For right now I will subscribe to your issue however wish in the foreseeable future you link the dots better.

  15. Have you thought about adding some videos to your article? I think it will really enhance everyones understanding.

  16. I take pleasure in, lead to I discovered just what I was taking a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  17. Len Pabelick says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  18. Rolf Thurm says:

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But think about if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche. Good blog!

  19. Hey there, I just hopped over to your website thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing worth reading.

  20. Tena Wambach says:

    Thank you for any other fantastic article. Where else may anybody get that kind of information in such an ideal method of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  21. This really solved my problem, thank you!

  22. analysis says:

    When are you going to post again? You really inform me!

  23. read says:

    How did you make this blog site look this sick! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  24. Ashley Nobis says:

    Somebody essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job!

  25. Rubin Krantz says:

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  26. Good post. I study something tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It should all the time be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and follow a bit of something from their store. I’d want to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  27. Kory Brochu says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  28. Bethel Dus says:

    Wow, fantastic weblog format! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content material!

  29. Great write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  30. Aldo Wharry says:

    This design is incredible! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  31. Brilliant, thanks, I will bookmark you later.

  32. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  33. I am only commenting to let you know what a impressive encounter my wife’s girl experienced viewing your web page. She realized lots of pieces, which include what it’s like to possess an ideal coaching mindset to get men and women quite simply grasp a number of extremely tough subject areas. You really surpassed her expected results. Thank you for coming up with those warm and friendly, dependable, educational and as well as easy tips on that topic to Evelyn.

  34. Derek Opell says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  35. Chet Ubry says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you can do with some p.c. to power the message house a little bit, but other than that, that is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  36. When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

  37. I thought this post was boring until I read it all, and it wasn’t a waste of time

  38. I adore your bravery for posting things like this, it takes courage you know

  39. Cornelius Kassabian says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  40. Just discovered this site thru Google, what a way to brighten up my month!

  41. kagames family says:

    Thanks a fantastic deal for providing folks having a very superb possiblity to read vital evaluations from this weblog. It’s normally very kind and as well ,

Leave a Reply

