Why This Election Mattered (Hint: It’s Not For The Reasons You Think!)

A president’s legacy is often hard to discern, even after its been decades since they left office.

Why? Because their decisions are still writing decisions!

The justices and justices a president appoints have far-reaching consequences, and with life-terms, they often times end up becoming their living legacy. Hell, John Paul Stevens, a Gerald Ford-appointed Supreme Court justice retired only two years ago, and considering incredibly close SCOTUS decisions Stevens voted in and how he voted in them, it’s likely that this Republican-appointed justice is the reason that women retain the right to choose¹ and the reason that minorities can still receive special consideration from universities² (as long as there aren’t quotas!)

The point being that the justices that a president selects often times have larger historical impacts than the presidents themselves have.

So what does this have to do with this election?

Well, some presidents get lucky, some don’t. Some, like Jimmy Carter, don’t get to appoint a single Supreme Court justice, while another, like Ronald Reagan, might hit the jackpot and get to appoint four, including a Chief Justice!

This was followed by George H.W. who got 2 more conservative appointees in his term in office, and ever since their 6 appointee spree, conservatives have retained at least a 5-4 majority in the court, as Democrats received two appointments over Clinton’s two terms and Republicans received two appointments under Bush’s (Clinton got Ginsburg/Breyer, W. got Roberts/Alito)

Well ladies and gentlemen, President Obama might be about to hit the Judicial Jackpot as his predecessor Reagan did about three decades ago.

Thus far, Obama has already hit the average quota of two appointed justices in Elena Kagan and Sonia Sotomayor, however, with four more years, it’s likely he may be hitting the sweet spot to get some more, and might even flip the majority of the court for the first time in decades.

The court is aging. Ruth Bader Ginsburg is the oldest at 79 and has been hinting that this may be her last year on the court. The other Clinton appointee, Stephen Breyer, is also getting on in age, turning 74 just last August.

However, these are Clinton appointees and Obama appointing replacements for the two isn’t what makes this election so significant.

It’s the next two that should have conservatives worried. Antonin Scalia and Anthony Kennedy both turned age 76 earlier this year, both conservatives appointed by Ronald Reagan over 24 years ago. Looking at their age and comparing it to previous retirees, this should definitely be a cause of worry for conservatives and a cause to rejoice for liberals.

With the exception of John Pauls Stevens (who we mentioned earlier), all of the recent Supreme Court retirees have retired between the ages of 70 and 80; Souter at 70, O’Connor at 76, and Byron White at 76.

This means that on top of the two justices he has already appointed, Obama is currently in the position to potentially make four more Supreme Court appointees.

Is he likely to get all of them? Of course not, but he doesn’t need to. Scalia and Kennedy are his targets, and this next four years is likely going to become a staring contest between the Old Guards of the conservative wing of the court and President Obama, as with Ginsburg retiring soon, he will already be at three appointees and if either Scalia or Kennedy retire, President Obama is going to be the president to flip the majority to the liberal wing for the first time in the Court in about 2 decades.

With recent decisions like Bush v. Gore, Citizens United, the Arizona Immigration Law and the Healthcare Reform rulings being decided by thin majorities and largely partisan votes, and the questions of Gay Marriage, Voting Rights, and Affirmative Action facing the court on the horizon, Obama’s re-election is more significant than you might think.

¹ Casey v. Planned Parenthood
² Grutter v. Bollinger & Grutz v. Bollinger

Tagged , ,

39 thoughts on “Why This Election Mattered (Hint: It’s Not For The Reasons You Think!)

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to weblog and seriously loved this blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really have outstanding articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your website.

  2. I just want to mention I am all new to blogging and definitely savored you’re web site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with incredible posts. Thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  3. I just can ignore your posts everyday, it seems like it became my habit.

  4. When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get four emails with exactly the same comment. Is there any manner you possibly can take away me from that service? Thanks!

  5. Why would you do that if it wasn’t for that thing? Come on, think about what you have posted.

  6. Based on your post, the longer a person does this, he will drown himself into it, what a nice and direct to the point post, thank you!

  7. Well I really enjoyed studying it. This article offered by you is very constructive for proper planning.

  8. Good blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  9. By the way, this post is just another story telling a lie, if you are really serious about this, do if yourself first

  10. gf sprague says:

    fantastic post, i loved it.

  11. Appreciating the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  12. It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Great Stuff, do you have a youtube profile?

  14. Is it okay to put part of this on my weblog if I post a reference to this web-site?

  15. In the awesome design of things you actually secure a B- for hard work. Where exactly you misplaced everybody was in your details. As it is said, details make or break the argument.. And that could not be more correct in this article. Having said that, allow me reveal to you what exactly did do the job. Your article (parts of it) is actually extremely engaging and that is probably the reason why I am making the effort to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, although I can easily notice a jumps in reason you make, I am not necessarily sure of how you seem to connect the ideas which inturn make the actual final result. For the moment I will, no doubt subscribe to your issue but trust in the near future you actually connect your dots much better.

  16. cheap dre beatsThanks for your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.

  17. I definitely wanted to write a simple comment so as to appreciate you for all of the superb techniques you are giving on this website. My rather long internet investigation has at the end been honored with reasonable suggestions to share with my family. I would admit that we visitors actually are rather lucky to live in a remarkable community with so many marvellous people with great things. I feel pretty blessed to have come across your entire webpages and look forward to really more exciting times reading here. Thanks once more for everything.

  18. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and exposure! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  19. analysis says:

    Just discovered this site through Google, what a pleasant shock!

  20. whoah this blog is great i love reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  21. Hey there, I just hopped over to your website through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating something worthy of browsing.

  22. Real nice style and design and wonderful content material , very little else we want : D.

  23. Earl Grooms says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to search out anyone with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  24. Hey there, I just hopped over to your webpage using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth reading.

  25. F*ckin’ remarkable issues here. I’m very happy to see your post. Thanks so much and i’m taking a look ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  26. Felix Clowes says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Studying this information So i’m satisfied to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I so much surely will make certain to do not fail to remember this site and give it a look regularly.

  27. Hello there, simply turned into aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in case you continue this in future. Numerous people can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  28. I am genuinely glad to glance at this blog posts which contains tons of valuable data, thanks for providing these statistics.

  29. I have been checking out some of your stories and i can state nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your site.

  30. principles says:

    If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am hunting for a good web host and your blog seams to be quick and up just about all the time

  31. analysis says:

    I was basically wondering if you ever thought of adjusting the page layout of your site? Its very well written; I really like what you have got to state. But maybe you could create a little more in the way of written content so people could connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

  32. Interesting. Good job in packaging this article in a manner that engages the audience.

  33. You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  34. Great work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the net. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

  35. Making this kind of post maybe hard for you, but please go keep on posting, you really don’t know that one day, your situation will be favourable on your part

  36. Hi, first I’m really happy I found this article. Also, let me say I like the way you write, makes it really nice to read. I’l take a look around the rest of the site, hope your other stuff is that interresting as well.

  37. Can you tell us more about this? I’d want to find out more details.

  38. I am actually glad to glance at this weblog posts which consists of lots of useful information, thanks for providing these statistics.

  39. onebuckresume says:

    Thanks a great deal for the efforts to possess had these points with each other on this weblog internet site. Mary and i also extremely significantly appreciated your input via your articles with particular points. I recognize which you have numerous demands within your schedule therefore the truth that you essentially took the maximum volume of time as you did to guide people actually like us by means of this article is really highly valued.

Leave a Reply

